The Georgia Bulldogs beat the Texas Christian University Horned Frogs 65-7 to win their second straight College Football Playoff National Championship.


No. 1 Georgia Bulldogs They scored on their first six drives and dominated Texas Christian University 65-7 in Monday night’s College Football Playoff championship game in Inglewood, California.

In sure victory, Heisman TrophyFinals quarterback Stetson Bennett passed for four touchdowns and ran for two more to lead the Bulldogs (15-0) to back-to-back national titles since Alabama in 2011 and 2012.

Bennett finished 18-of-25 for 304 yards in his final collegiate game. He left the game with 13:25 left in the fourth quarter.

Bennett told ESPN, which broadcast the title game, that he was trying not to cry.

“Champions of the whole world,” he said, struggling to find words to echo his emotions. “I don’t know. I’m just trying to see everybody one last time, you know, hug everybody.

Bennett picked up his second championship game offensive most valuable player award, and his six total touchdowns tied the championship game era record set by Joe Burrow with Louisiana State University in 2020.

Georgia built a 38-7 halftime lead after TCU’s Max Duggan scored the final 28 points before halftime. Heisman Trophy runner-upRushed for a touchdown that made it 10-7 with 5:45 left in the first quarter.

The Bulldogs controlled the game and the clock at the half, held the ball nearly 19 times in the first 30 minutes and outgained the Horned Frogs (13-2) 354 yards to 121.

The offense continued in the second half until Georgia head coach Kirby Smart called on the Dogs effectively and began using more second-team players in the fourth quarter. It was then 52-7.

“We wanted our kids to play without fear,” Smart told ESPN. Smart said he told his players they were the top-ranked team in the nation for most of the year, but they will be the hunters in this game. They only had one last chance.

“We hunted tonight,” he said.

The Bulldogs are the first team to win back-to-back titles since the revamped College Football Playoff arrived in 2014.

“They had a will to work. They didn’t listen to what everybody said about them,” Smart said. A poll of sports writers For teams in the Southeastern Conference. “Everybody doubted them to start the year, and that chip on their shoulder was big enough to give our team an edge.”

Georgia’s Ladd McConkey, a sophomore wide receiver, had two touchdown grabs, including a wide-open, 37-yard reception that set up the first six of the Bulldogs’ 55 consecutive points.

Sophomore tight end Brock Bowers, the national player of the year, had one touchdown catch and 152 yards on his seven receptions.

“We definitely didn’t play our best. You’ve got to give Georgia a ton of credit,” TCU head coach Sonny Dykes said in a postseason news conference. “Those guys came out and played great.”

Dykes said he is still very proud of his team and said they will learn from the loss.

“We will handle it better next time on a platform like this,” he said.

The margin of victory was 58-points since college football’s official championship game was established in the 1998 season, and Georgia’s 65 points were the most scored in a championship game.

President Joe Biden He tweeted his congratulations To the Bulldogs following their win: “Glory, @UniversityofGA. Congratulations to the Dogs on a hard-fought national championship – and @TCUFootball for beating the odds all season.”

“Georgia, there’s no doubt you’ve done your community proud tonight.”

See also  US health expert says risk of deadly new Covid variant in China 'extremely low'

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *